Connect with us


UC forward Gary Clark Named to Karl Malone Award Watch List

Senior forward Gary Clark was named to the Karil Malone Power Forward of the Year Award this week. Search the quote “Gary Clark is a problem” on Twitter and you will understand. Clark isn’t a problem for #BearcatNation, but his opponents don’t feel the same way. He has added skills to his arsenal every year with the season right around the corner we will see what Clark has added this year.

Per GoBearcats

University of Cincinnati senior Gary Clark (Clayton, N.C./Clayton HS) has been named one of 20 watch list members for the 2018 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Clark averaged 10.8 points and 7.9 rebounds during the 2016-17 season while earning selection to the American Championship All-Tournament team. He ranked among the league leaders in field goal percentage (fourth at .529), rebounds (fourth at 7.9), blocks (tied for ninth at 1.2) and scoring (26th at 10.8).

Clark enters the 2017-18 campaign ranked third in the nation among returning players with 819 career rebounds. He needs two points to join UC’s 1,000-point club and is on pace to finish his career ranked among the top five players in school history for rebounds and blocks.

Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its fourth year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“Karl Malone is unquestionably one of the greatest power forwards, a truly gifted player and an exemplary teammate,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “He had a phenomenal career and we are privileged to present an award bearing his name for the best power forward in the college game today.”

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Karl Malone Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles on Friday, Apr. 6, 2018. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

For more information on the 2018 Julius Erving Award, log onto


Nana Foulland, Bucknell
Gary Clark, Cincinnati
Marvin Bagley III, Duke
Wendell Carter Jr., Duke
Nick Mayo, Eastern Kentucky
Yante Maten, Georgia
Rokas Gustys, Hofstra
PJ Washington, Kentucky
Moritz Wagner, Michigan
Jordan Murphy, Minnesota
Alize Johnson, Missouri State
Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Reid Travis, Stanford
Obi Enechionyia, Temple
Dylan Osetkowski, Texas
Robert Williams, Texas A&M
Zach Smith, Texas Tech
William Lee, UAB
Bennie Boatwright, USC
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season*

Managing Editor of Bearcat Insider, I've been on the BCI team the last couple of years. I made the final four in the Biggest Big East Fan contest in 2011, I covered UC also on Cincy on the Prowl. I'm just a lefty trying to get buckets in this game called life Van Exel style.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Basketball