Connect with us


Bearcats slasher Evans Named to Julius Erving Award Watch List

Junior guard/forward Jacob Evans was named to the Julius Erving Award Watch List this week. Evans is a very versatile player on both sides of the court and many expect this game to go to the next with another year working on his game. Honestly it isn’t much the junior can’t do on the court so it will be exciting to see where he finishes on the list at the end of the season.

Per GoBearcats

University of Cincinnati junior Jacob Evans (Baton Rouge, La./St. Michael the Archangel) has been named one of 20 watch list members for the 2018 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

Evans led the Bearcats in scoring, averaging 13.5 points with 4.2 rebounds last season. A 2017 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year finalist, NABC District 25 Second Team selection and American Championship All-Tournament team honoree, Evans ranked among the league leaders in three-point field goal percentage (fifth at .418), steals (ninth at 1.3), field goal percentage (11th at .473), points (12th at 13.5), three-pointers made (12th at 1.9), free throw percentage (14th at .732) and minutes played (26th at 31.6). He scored in double figures in 31 of 36 games in 2016-17, the most by a Bearcat since Sean Kilpatrick (33 of 34 games in 2013-14).

Named after Hall of Famer and 16-year professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor in its fourth year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“With his combination of domination on the court and tremendous scoring ability, Julius Erving forged the way for future small forwards in the game of basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “After being a historical player at UMass, he went on to have a monumental career in the ABA and NBA. The Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes the twenty young men on this award watch list as showing similar dedication and skill as Dr. J and we cannot wait to see how they contribute to their teams’ success this season.”

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Julius Erving Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles on Friday, Apr. 6, 2018. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award include Josh Hart, Villanova (2017), Denzel Valentine, Michigan State (2016) and Stanley Johnson, Arizona (2015).

For more information on the 2018 Julius Erving Award, log onto


Rawle Alkins , Arizona
Kelan Martin, Butler
Jacob Evans, Cincinnati
Gary Trent Jr., Duke
Zach Norvell Jr., Gonzaga
Kevin Knox, Kentucky
Deng Adel, Louisville
Justin Jackson, Maryland
Bruce Brown Jr., Miami
Miles Bridges, Michigan St.
Tyler Hall Montana St
Jeffrey Carroll, Oklahoma St.
Troy Brown Jr., Oregon
Vincent Edwards, Purdue
De’Monte Buckingham, Richmond
DJ Hogg, Texas A&M
Kris Wilkes, UCLA
Mikal Bridges, Villanova
Markis McDuffie, Wichita State
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season*

Managing Editor of Bearcat Insider, I've been on the BCI team the last couple of years. I made the final four in the Biggest Big East Fan contest in 2011, I covered UC also on Cincy on the Prowl. I'm just a lefty trying to get buckets in this game called life Van Exel style.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Basketball